Content Menu
Kurdistan Region Council of Ministers’ message on the New Year

Kurdistan Region Council of Ministers’ message on the New Year

Dear citizens of Kurdistan,

On the occasion of the New Year, we present you our warmest wishes, hoping that it will mark the beginning of a year of happiness and further stability for our homeland. We present our greetings to the Peshmerga forces in the trenches of honour and the families of the martyrs of the Kurdish cause. We reaffirm that they will remain the symbol of freedom and stability of Kurdistan.

The year 2015 witnessed a series of hardships for the people of Kurdistan: continual attacks by the Islamic State terrorist organisation, ISIS, the martyrdom of many of our brave Peshmergas, a sever economic crisis, imposed on the Region by the government in Baghdad, in addition to internal political disagreements, which further complicated the situation. In the meantime, however, 2015 marked major victories on the battlefield and the liberation of vast territories of Kurdistan, which were occupied by ISIS terrorists, thanks to the sacrifices of Kurdistan’s Peshmerga forces.

We hope that in 2016 we will overcome all of the obstacles and crises, and that this new year will be the year of final victory against terrorism. The Kurdistan Regional Government reaffirms that it will continue to exert all its efforts to address all the problems, and reassures that all the rights of Kurdistan Region citizens will be preserved.

We extend our thanks, appreciation and gratitude to friendly countries and the international coalition in supporting the Peshmerga forces and the people of Kurdistan in the war against ISIS, and thus helping to maintain the Kurdistan Region’s stability.

We extend our appreciation and respect to the people of Kurdistan for their resilience in these difficult circumstances. We are confident that our people, who have overcome more difficult situations, will, undoubtedly, be able to overcome the current crisis as well.

Kurdistan Region Council of Ministers Presidency
31 December 2015