Content Menu
Council of Ministers – Regular Updates

Council of Ministers – Regular Updates

The Kurdistan Regional Government Council of Ministers meets regularly to discuss new policies and decisions. In this article, you will find a constantly updated list of summaries of the meetings and the links to their respective original sources.

 

  • 2020 04 01: Prime Minister Masrour Barzani chaired a video conference cabinet meeting today to discuss the Kurdistan Region’s financial situation in light of the coronavirus pandemic, its economic implications, the drop in oil prices and the government’s plans to reform public expenditure. The Kurdistan Regional Government decided unanimously that their main priority is keeping civil servants’ pay unchanged, while members of the cabinet agreed to offer half of their wages and bonuses for the next two months to the government treasury, for redistribution to low-income families. The ministers of education and higher education presented a report on the state of schools and learning centers across the region, and the cabinet supported a plan for the consolidation of the school year through online courses.

                  Read the original article here

 

  • 2020 02 12: The cabinet meeting focussed on the implementation of the KRG’s ambitious Reform Law. Prime Minister Barzani emphasised the significance of the KRG’s modernisation efforts, which will enhance the efficiency of all government sectors and streamline the delivery of services to the public. It was also agreed that the cabinet, as part of its core responsibilities, will consider the restructuring the Kurdistan Region’s revenues and expenditures to bring greater transparency to the oil and gas sectors.

                  Read the original article here

 

  • 2020 01 22: The cabinet discussed implementing best practice for the taxation system of the Kurdistan Region. The framework updates current auditing practices and increases the transparency of the taxation system. Prime Minister Barzani emphasised his cabinet’s commitment to an ambitious reform agenda, notably tax revenue reform in the Kurdistan Region, which will ensure fair implementation of the system and provide the government with the enhanced enforcement tools. During the cabinet meeting, the KRG also approved the merging of the High Institute for Audits and Accounting with the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research, bolstering their research capabilities and raising scientific standards.

                  Read the original article here

 

  • 2020 01 15: Prime Minister Barzani welcomed the cabinet’s support for the government’s reforms, which will provide more fairness and transparency concerning the reorganisation of public sector salaries and pensions. The cabinet also discussed how public-private partnerships might be utilised in modernisation projects. Prime Minister Barzani expressed his support for a pilot project, and requested that the Ministry of Planning examines it in more detail.

                  Read the original article here

 

  • 2020 01 08: Prime Minister Barzani called on all sides to avoid any further escalation, warning that conflict and instability could lead to the re-emergence of terrorist groups such as ISIS. He affirmed that the KRG will continue to cooperate with its partners, including the Global Coalition and Iraqi security forces, as it seeks to maintain regional security. The cabinet also discussed the meeting between the KRG and the Kurdistan Parliament’s Finance and Economy Affairs Committee to examine the government’s draft reform bill, which will soon be voted on by the Kurdistan Parliament.

                  Read the original article here

 

  • 2019 12 11: The cabinet approved the draft Reform Bill by a majority vote. The Bill has now been sent to the Kurdistan Parliament for debate. The Reform Bill represents the latest in a series of steps taken to transform the civil service, increasing transparency and creating a fair system for hardworking public sector employees. The Bill includes a series of measures designed to provide more certainty and accountability on salaries, pensions and allowances for public servants.

                  Read the original article here

 

  • 2019 12 04: PM Barzani welcomed the efforts to strengthen KRG’s relationship with Baghdad. He affirmed the government’s full support for the delegation leading negotiations to ensure that the draft budget bill takes into consideration the interests of the people of the Kurdistan Region and Iraq. Minister of Electricity, Kamal Mohammed Salih provided an update on measures undertaken to minimise energy interruptions as winter approaches.

                  Read the original article here

 

  • 2019 11 27: As part of efforts by the new KRG to establish a stable relationship with the Iraqi federal government, Prime Minister Barzani reaffirmed the importance of supporting the delegation leading negotiations with Baghdad. Minister of Municipalities and Tourism, Sasan Awni, presented a study on private water consumption and waste across the Kurdistan Region, whereas Minister of Electricity, Kamal Mohammed Salih, updated the cabinet on efforts to minimise interruptions in the delivery of energy as winter approaches.

                  Read the original article here

 

  • 2019 11 13: During the meeting, Minister of Peshmerga Shoresh Ismael presented a detailed report on his ministry’s structure and expenditures, stressing the government’s important role in supporting the reform process for Peshmerga affairs. On the latest developments in Baghdad, Region Minister Khalid Salam Saaed highlighted the Federal Supreme Court’s recent amendment to the Iraqi Provincial Law. Following a successful intervention by the Kurdistan Parliament the amended law now allows displaced individuals to vote from outside their province of birth.

                  Read the original article here

 

  • 2019 11 06: Prime Minister Barzani expressed his support for the vital contribution of the Kurdistan Region’s hardworking teacher. The KRG agreed to employ all current contract-based public teachers on a permanent basis. The KRG were also presented with a comprehensive report by the Minister of Anfal and Martyrs Affairs, Abdullah Mahmood Mohammad, following which the KRG stated that the fulfilment of therights and entitlements of the victims will form part of the KRG’s ongoing discussions with Baghdad.

                  Read the original article here

 

  • 2019 10 30: In light of the ongoing protests, Prime Minister Barzani called for restraint by all sides, reiterating his hope that a peaceful resolution can be found. While welcoming the successful operation to remove Abu Bakr Al Baghdadi as a definitive step in the fight against ISIS, the Prime Minister warned that the terrorist organisation remains a threat. Regarding the instability in Syria, teh Cabinet approved a proposal by the Minister of Interior to establish a humanitarian emergency response fund.

                  Read the original article here 

 

  • 2019 10 23: Underscoring the need for stability in Iraq, Prime Minister Barzani outlined how a strong partnership between the federal government of Iraq and the Kurdistan Regional Government would strengthen the country’s ability to protect its people. The Prime Minister also reaffirmed the Kurdistan Regional Government’s commitment to providing basic services and aid to the 1.1 million displaced people who are seeking refuge in the Kurdistan Region.

                  Read the original article here 

 

  • 2019 10 09: Addressing the recent developments in Syria, Prime Minister Barzani affirmed that any military escalation in the country’s north-east would have severe consequences beyond the Syrian border. The Prime Minister called on all parties to engage in dialogue to de-escalate the situation and prevent the loss of innocent lives and further displacement of people toward vulnerable areas or the Kurdistan Region.

                  Read the original article here 

 

  • 2019 10 02: The Cabinet reviewed mechanisms to manage public debt and obligations. Furthermore, ministers were tasked to explore jobs for top graduates, while also reaffirmirming legal obligations of confidentiality KRG employees owe to the government and the Kurdistani people.

                  Read the original article here 

 

  • 2019 09 18: The ministers decided to fully implement legislation on intellectual property rights. In recognition of the importance of the Kurdistan Region’s agricultural workers, the KRG agreed that it would remove the debts of around 9,000 farmers. This falls in line with the government’s effort to develop and diversify the Region’s economy. In order to enhance security and facilitate trade, a committee responsible for the coordination of entry points was elected.

                  Read the original article here 

 

  • 2019 09 11: The meeting approved an overhaul of the Kurdistan Region’s taxation system. The formation of a special committee to oversee preparations for the Iraqi national census in 2020 was discussed. A delegation was formed to meet with Iraqi federal representatives to ensure that the Kurdistan Region’s interests are represented in the 2020 Iraqi budget.

                  Read the original article here 

 

  • 2019 07 30: Technical commitees to negotiate with Baghdad were formed. It was decided that all revenues will be administered by the Ministry of Finance and Economy. The Council of Ministers also began to review a new draft law regulating government pensions, salaries and allowances.

                  Read the original article here 

 

  • 2019 07 22: The importance of digital government was reiterated. The new KRG portal (gov.krd) will serve as a single platform consolidating information from all government bodies. The Prime Minister empowered ministers to issue new regulations to speed up bureaucracy.

                  Read the original article here

Zum Inhalt Zum Menü
Ministerrat – Regelmäßige Updates

Ministerrat – Regelmäßige Updates

Der Ministerrat der Regionalregierung Kurdistan-Irak tritt regelmäßig zusammen, um neue Strategien und Entscheidungen zu erörtern. In diesem Artikel finden Sie eine ständig aktualisierte Liste der Zusammenfassungen der Sitzungen und die Links zu den jeweiligen Originalquellen. Wenn nicht deutlich angegeben sind die verlinkten Seiten alle auf Englisch.

 

  • 2020 01 15: Premierminister Barzani begrüßte die Unterstützung des Kabinetts für die Reformen der Regierung, die für mehr Fairness und Transparenz bei der Neuordnung der Gehälter und Renten des öffentlichen Sektors sorgen. Das Kabinett erörterte auch, wie öffentlich-private Partnerschaften in Modernisierungsprojekten genutzt werden könnten. Der Premierminister brachte seine Unterstützung für ein Pilotprojekt zum Ausdruck und forderte das Planungsministerium auf, es eingehender zu prüfen.

                  Lesen Sie den originalen Artikel hier

 

  • 2020 01 08: Premierminister Barzani forderte alle Seiten auf, eine weitere Eskalation zu vermeiden, und warnte vor Konflikten und Instabilitäten, die zum Wiederauftreten terroristischer Gruppen wie IS führen könnten. Er bekräftigte, dass die KRG weiterhin mit ihren Partnern, einschließlich der Globalen Koalition und der irakischen Sicherheitskräfte, zusammenarbeiten werde, um die regionale Sicherheit zu gewährleisten. Das Kabinett erörterte auch das Treffen zwischen der KRG und dem Ausschuss für Finanzen und Wirtschaft des Kurdistan Parlaments, um den Entwurf des Reformgesetzes der Regierung zu prüfen, über den das Kurdistan Parlament bald abstimmen wird.

                  Lesen Sie den originalen Artikel hier

 

  • 2019 12 11: Das Kabinett billigte den Entwurf des Reformgesetzes mit Stimmenmehrheit. Der Gesetzesentwurf wurde nun zur Debatte an das Kurdistan Parlament versandt. Das Reformgesetz ist das jüngste in einer Reihe von Schritten zur Umgestaltung des öffentlichen Dienstes, zur Erhöhung der Transparenz und zur Schaffung eines fairen Systems für Beschäftigte im öffentlichen Sektor. Der Gesetzentwurf enthält Maßnahmen, mit welchen mehr Sicherheit und Rechenschaftspflicht in Bezug auf Gehälter, Renten und Zulagen für Beamte geschaffen werden soll.

                  Lesen Sie den originalen Artikel hier

 

  • 2019 12 04: Premierminister Barzani begrüßte die Bemühungen, die Beziehung der KRG zu Bagdad zu stärken. Er bekräftigt die Unterstützung der Regierung für die Verhandlungsführung durch die Delegation, um sicherzustellen, dass der Entwurf des Budgets die Interessen der Menschen in der Region Kurdistan und im Irak berücksichtigt. Der Minister für Elektrizität, Kamal Mohammed Salih, informierte den Ministerrat über die vorhandenen Maßnahmen, um Energieunterbrechungen bei Anbruch des Winters so gering wie möglich zu halten.

                  Lesen Sie den originalen Artikel hier

 

  • 2019 11 27: Im Rahmen der Bemühungen der neuen KRG, ein stabiles Verhältnis zur irakischen Bundesregierung aufzubauen, bekräftigte Premierminister Barzani, wie wichtig es sei, die Delegation bei den Verhandlungen mit Bagdad zu unterstützen. Der Minister für Gemeindeverwaltung und Tourismus, Sasan Awni, präsentierte eine Studie über den privaten Wasserverbrauch und den Abfall in der gesamten Region Kurdistan, während der Minister für Elektrizität, Kamal Mohammed Salih, das Kabinett über die Bemühungen zur Minimierung von Stromunterbrechungen vor dem Wintereinbruch auf den neuesten Stand brachte.

                  Lesen Sie den originalen Artikel hier

 

  • 2019 11 13: Während des Treffens legte Minister für Peshmerga-Angelegenheiten Shoresh Ismael einen detaillierten Bericht über die Struktur und die Ausgaben seines Ministeriums vor und betonte die wichtige Rolle der Regierung bei der Unterstützung des Reformprozesses. Zu den jüngsten Entwicklungen in Bagdad hob Regionalminister Khalid Salam Saaed die Änderung des irakischen Provinzgesetzes hervor. Nach einer erfolgreichen Intervention des Kurdistan Parlaments erlaubt das nun geänderte Gesetz Vertriebenen, von außerhalb ihrer Geburtsprovinz zu wählen.

                  Lesen Sie den originalen Artikel hier

 

  • 2019 11 06: Premierminister Barzani drückte seine Unterstützung für den entscheidenden Beitrag der Lehrer in der Region Kurdistan aus. Die KRG hat zugestimmt, alle aktuellen Vertragslehrer dauerhaft zu beschäftigen. Der KRG wurde auch ein umfassender Bericht des Ministers für Anfal- und Märtyrerangelegenheiten, Abdullah Mahmood Mohammad, vorgelegt. Die KRG erkärte, dass die Erfüllung der Rechte und Ansprüche der Opfer ein Teil der laufenden Gespräche zwischen der KRG und Bagdad sein werde.

                  Lesen Sie den originalen Artikel hier

 

  • 2019 10 30:  Angesichts der anhaltenden Proteste forderte Premierminister Barzani alle Seiten zur Zurückhaltung auf und bekräftigte seine Hoffnung, dass eine friedliche Lösung gefunden werden kann. Der Premierminister begrüßte die erfolgreiche Operation zur Entfernung von Abu Bakr Al Baghdadi als einen endgültigen Schritt im Kampf gegen den IS, warnte jedoch, dass die Terrororganisation weiterhin eine Bedrohung darstellt. In Bezug auf die Instabilität in Syrien billigte das Kabinett einen Vorschlag des Innenministers, einen humanitären Nothilfefonds einzurichten.

                  Lesen Sie den originalen Artikel hier

 

  • 2019 10 23:  Premierminister Barzani unterstrich die Notwendigkeit der Stabilität im Irak. Angesichts der aktuellen Krise in Syrien bekräftigte Premierminister Barzani das anhaltende Engagement der Regionalregierung Kurdistan-Irak, den 1,1 Millionen Vertriebenen, die in der Region Kurdistan Zuflucht suchen, Grundversorgung und Hilfe zu leisten.

                  Lesen Sie den originalen Artikel hier

 

  • 2019 10 09: Angesichts der jüngsten Entwicklungen in Syrien bekräftigte Premierminister Barzani, dass eine militärische Eskalation im Nordosten des Landes schwerwiegende Folgen jenseits der syrischen Grenze haben würde. Der Premierminister forderte alle Parteien auf, in einen Dialog einzutreten, um die Situation zu deeskalieren und den Verlust unschuldiger Menschenleben und die weitere Vertreibung von Menschen zu verhindern.

                  Lesen Sie den originalen Artikel hier

 

  • 2019 10 02: Das Kabinett überprüfte die Mechanismen zur Verwaltung der öffentlichen Schulden und Verpflichtungen. Darüber hinaus wurden die Minister beauftragt, Arbeitsplätze für hochrangige Absolventen zu erkunden und gleichzeitig die gesetzlichen Geheimhaltungspflichten zu bekräftigen, die die KRG-Mitarbeiter der Regierung und dem Volk in der Region Kurdistan verdanken.

                  Lesen Sie den originalen Artikel hier

 

  • 2019 09 18: Die Minister beschlossen, die Rechtsvorschriften zum Schutz des geistigen Eigentums vollständig umzusetzen. In Anerkennung der Bedeutung der Landarbeiter in der Region Kurdistan stimmte die KRG zu, die Schulden von rund 9.000 Landwirten abzubauen. Dies steht im Einklang mit den Bemühungen der Regierung, die Wirtschaft der Region zu entwickeln und zu diversifizieren. Um die Sicherheit zu erhöhen und den Handel zu erleichtern, wurde ein Ausschuss gewählt, der für die Koordinierung der Grenzübergangsstellen zuständig ist.

                  Lesen Sie den originalen Artikel hier

 

  • 2019 09 11: Bei dem Treffen wurde eine Überarbeitung des Steuersystems der Region Kurdistan genehmigt. Die Bildung eines Sonderausschusses zur Überwachung der Vorbereitungen für die irakische 2020 Volkszählung wurde erörtert. Eine Delegation wurde gebildet, die mit irakischen Beamten treffen solle, um sicherzustellen, dass die Interessen der Region Kurdistan im irakischen Budget 2020 vertreten sind.

                  Lesen Sie den originalen Artikel hier

 

  • 2019 07 30: Technische Komitees für Verhandlungen mit Bagdad wurden gebildet. Es wurde beschlossen, dass alle Einnahmen vom Ministerium für Finanzen und Wirtschaft verwaltet werden. Der Ministerrat hat auch begonnen, einen neuen Gesetzesentwurf zu nachzuprüfen, der die staatlichen Renten, Gehälter und Zulagen regelt.

                  Lesen Sie den originalen Artikel hier

 

  • 2019 07 22: Die Bedeutung der digitalen Regierung wurde bekräftigt. Das neue KRG-Portal (gov.krd) dient als einheitliche Plattform, auf der Informationen aller Regierungsstellen zusammengeführt werden. Der Premierminister ermächtigte die Minister, neue Vorschriften zu erlassen, um die Bürokratie zu beschleunigen.

                  Lesen Sie den originalen Artikel hier