Content Menu
FAQs: Tourism in Kurdistan

FAQs: Tourism in Kurdistan

Why Go to the Kurdistan Region?

The Kurdistan Region of Iraq has an impressive history and a formidable culture. The Erbil Citadel, for one, is the oldest continuously inhabited settlement in the world. You can find many archaeological places of interest in the Kurdistan Region: such as the remnants of the Battle of Gaugamela or the Aqueducts of Jirwan and Khanis, probably built around 700 BC. Kurdistan is also much appreciated for its pristine nature: rivers, mountains, lakes! Everything is beautifully wild in the Kurdistan Region. Last but not least, the Kurdistan Region has a mixed society that gathers Kurds, Arabs, Chaldeans Christians, Assyrians, Turkmens. You will find a mixture of languages, religions, and ethnicities that is quite unique.

 

Is it Safe to Travel to Kurdistan?

The region is stable and safe, having an extremely low crime rate. The Kurdistan Region was not invaded by IS and it has remained a stronghold of security in the Middle East. There are checkpoints in the region and security is very tight all over Kurdistan, particularly at the airport.

Having said that, as in every large city such as Erbil, there is always the risk of minor crimes like pickpocketing.

 

How to Get to Kurdistan

You can travel to the Kurdistan Region either by air or by land.

  • By Air

    From Western Europe and other parts of the Middle East, you can easily fly into Erbil and Slemani, the two biggest cities of the Kurdistan Region, which respectively have two international airports. Austrian Airlines has a direct connection to and from Erbil every day. Some airlines will connect via Istanbul and Dubai.

  • By Road

    Kurdistan has several borders with Turkey, Iran and Syria. Those who do not need a visa for Iraqi Kurdistan can enter through these borders. These are the land borders that are still open:

    Turkey – The main crossing is at the Ibrahim Khalil/Habur border. From Turkey, there are regular shared taxis leaving from the town of Silopi which will take you through the border and into the town of Zakho in the Kurdistan Region.
    Iran – The popular border post is the Haj Omaran crossing located along Hamilton Road that leads from Iran directly to Erbil.
    Syria – The border crossing if found between the two cities of Al Bukamal in Syria und Al-Qaim in Irak.

How to Get a KRG Visa

Most nationalities can enter the Kurdistan Region of Iraq without a visa, including US, Canada, Australia, and EU passport holders. For other nationalities, you will need an e-visa to enter the Kurdistan Region. In order to do so, you should contact the nearest KRG representation to you and find out how to apply for one. Here is a list of KRG representantations around the world.

Note: the e-visa will only grant you access to the Kurdistan Region and is valid for 30 days.

 

When to Travel to Kurdistan

Spring, specifically May, is the best time to travel to the Kurdistan Region. It’s when all the landscapes in mountainous Kurdistan become lush and green. Temperatures are also mild and pleasant, around 25° C in the day and 15° C at night.

Kurdistan can be extremely hot in summer (between June to September) with temperatures rising to almost 50° C. Winter can also be very cold, with snow in many mountainous areas.

For travel throughout the Region, bring some comfortable shoes and clothes. In general, though, try to make sure to cover your shoulders and knees.

 

Where to Stay in Kurdistan

Accommodation in the Region is generally quite affordable and comfortable, offering good value for money. Most hotels have really good Wi-Fi.

Couchsurfing is also  very popular in the Kurdistan Region. There are hundreds of active profiles in big cities like Dohuk and Erbil, and Kurdish hospitality is legendary!

 

What to Eat in Kurdistan

As with many other Middle Eastern cuisine, Kurdish food is mostly about meat. Grilled meat is the staple in Kurdistan and you’ll find shish kebab restaurants everywhere. In a casual sit-down restaurant, you should expect to pay around 3000-5000 dinars (US$3-5) for a meal.

Kurdish dishes include dolma (stuffed grape vines), shila u brinc (the Kurdish national dish made of chicken and rice), and okra bamiya (a tomato-based stew). The best places to try these foods are usually in private homes. Kurdish hospitality is famous, so don’t hesitate to say yes if you get invited to peoples’ home.

If you are a vegetarian or vegan, you should not worry. Kurdish cuisine have plenty of meat-free or dairy-free food: grilled vegetables, rice with almonds and raisins, and especially freshly made naan with hummus or baba ganoush and much more.

Of course, expect to drink a great quantity of tea, or chai, and be careful with the amount of sugar!

 

How to Connect in Kurdistan

Internet is fast and easily available in the Kurdistan Region and several foreign operators have roaming contracts with local companies. You can easily get a SIM card that has 4G data, but it will not be super cheap. You can get mobile signal almost everywhere (even on the top of a mountain).

SIM cards as well as phones are easily available at the airport and bazaars (especially the one in Erbil). Kurdistan’s main telecom companies are: Asiacell, Korek, and Zain.

However, the vast majority of hotels has free Wi-Fi that is fast and stable. Some shisha cafes or tea houses might also have free Wi-Fi.

 

How to Pay in Kurdistan

The currency in the Kurdistan Region is Iraqi dinars, just like in the rest of Iraq. There are ATMs at the airport and also in some of the bigger hotels. They are however not easy to find outside of the big cities, so it is always advised to bring cash.

The best solution is to bring some USDs to exchange at the Citadel or in the hotel. You can easily exchange USDs and Euros in Erbil and Slemani, mainly in the Citadel and other parts of the city centre. Also, if you pay in US dollars, you will receive change in Iraqi dinars.

The Region is relatively cheap: expect to pay around US$30-50 per night for a single room in three-star hotels, and $5 for a proper meal with meat and rice, or a shawarma/falafel sandwich for just $1-2.

 

What to Do at Night in Kurdistan

The big cities of Erbil, Dohuk and Slemani have a very active nightlife. It is not uncommon to see groups of people spend time in restaurants and cafes. In the summer, hotels often open rooftop bars which are populated by young people until late night.

 

How to Behave in Kurdistan

As in many situations with foreign culture, showing respect and courtesy at all times and expressing gratitude for hospitality is the best way to go. Kurds are very welcoming, so it is not uncommon to get invited into people’s homes for lunch or dinner. Drinking alcohol is not prohibited, but only few restaurants serve alcohol and this can be quite expensive.

 

How to Communicate in Kurdistan

The Kurdistan Region is officially bilingual, the two languages being Kurdish and Arabic. However, it is not uncommon that especially young generations will only be able to speak Kurdish. There is a great variety of Kurdish dialects, but Standard Kurdish, which is spoken in Erbil, is the Sorani dialect. People in the Erbil Bazar, in shops as well as in hotels and restaurants will most likely be able to speak English.

 

Find out more:

Kurdistan Board of Tourism: http://bot.gov.krd/

AUA daily direct connections to Vienna-Erbil: Austrian Airlines Erbil

Zum Inhalt Zum Menü
Tourismus in Kurdistan

Tourismus in Kurdistan

 

Warum sollte man in die Region Kurdistan reisen?

Die Region Kurdistan-Irak hat eine beeindruckende Geschichte und eine beeindruckende Kultur. Zum einen ist die Erbil-Zitadelle die älteste durchgehend bewohnte Siedlung der Welt. In der Region Kurdistan gibt es viele archäologische Sehenswürdigkeiten, wie die Überreste der Schlacht von Gaugamela oder die Aquädukte von Jirwan und Khanis, die wahrscheinlich um 700 v. Chr. errichtet wurden. Kurdistan wird auch für seine unberührte Natur geschätzt: Flüsse, Berge, Seen! In der Region Kurdistan ist alles wunderbar wild. Zu guter letzt hat die Region Kurdistan eine gemischte Gesellschaft, in der sich Kurden, Araber, chaldäische Christen, Assyrer und Turkmenen zusammenleben. Sie finden eine Mischung aus Sprachen, Religionen und Ethnien, die einzigartig ist.

 

Ist es sicher, in die Region Kurdistan zu reisen?

Die Region ist stabil und sicher und weist eine extrem niedrige Kriminalitätsrate auf. Die Region Kurdistan wurde vom IS nicht erobert und ist nach wie vor eine Hochburg der Sicherheit im Nahen Osten. In der Region gibt es Kontrollstellen, und die Sicherheit in ganz Kurdistan ist sehr streng, insbesondere am Flughafen. Wie in jeder großen Stadt, wie in Erbil, besteht auch immer die Gefahr, dass kleinere Straftaten wie Taschendiebstahl begangen werden.

 

Wie kommt man in die Region Kurdistan?

Sie können in die Region Kurdistan entweder auf dem Luftweg oder auf dem Landweg reisen.

  • Luftweg

    Von Westeuropa und anderen Teilen des Nahen Ostens aus können Sie leicht nach Erbil und Slemani fliegen, den beiden größten Städten der Region Kurdistan, die jeweils einen internationalen Flughafen haben. Austrian Airlines bietet täglich Direktverbindungen von und nach Erbil an. Einige Fluggesellschaften werden über Istanbul und Dubai verbinden.
  • Landweg

    Kurdistan grenzt an die Türkei, den Iran und Syrien. Wer für die Region Kurdistan kein Visum benötigt, kann über diese Grenzen einreisen. Dies sind die Landgrenzen, die noch offen sind:
    Türkei – Der Hauptübergang befindet sich an der Grenze zwischen Ibrahim Khalil und Habur. Aus der Türkei fahren regelmäßig Taxis von der Stadt Silopi ab, die Sie über die Grenze in die Stadt Zakho in der Region Kurdistan bringen.
    Iran – Der am meisten benutzt Grenzübergang ist Haj Omaran entlang der Hamilton Road, der vom Iran direkt nach Erbil führt.
    Syrien – Der Grenzübergang ist zwischen den Städten Al Bukamal in Syrien und Al-Qaim im Irak.

 

Wie bekommt man ein KRG-Visum?

Die meisten Nationalitäten, darunter amerikanische, kanadische, australische und EU-Passinhaber, können ohne Visum in die Region Kurdistan-Irak einreisen. Andere Nationalitäten benötigen ein elektronisches Visum für die Einreise in die Region Kurdistan. Wenden Sie sich dazu an die nächstgelegene KRG-Vertretung und finden Sie heraus, wie Sie eines beantragen können. Hier ist eine Liste der KRG-Vertretungen auf der ganzen Welt.

Hinweis: Das E-Visum gewährt Ihnen nur Zugang in die Region Kurdistan und ist 30 Tage lang gültig.

 

Wann sollte man in die Region Kurdistan reisen?

Der Frühling, insbesondere Mai, ist die beste Reisezeit für die Region Kurdistan. In dieser Zeit werden alle Landschaften im gebirgigen Kurdistan üppig und grün. Die Temperaturen sind auch mild und angenehm, etwa 25° C am Tag und 15° C in der Nacht. Im Sommer (zwischen Juni und September) kann es in Kurdistan sehr heiß werden und die Temperaturen steigen auf fast 50° C. Der Winter kann auch sehr kalt sein. In vielen Bergregionen liegt Schnee. Wenn Sie in der Region unterwegs sind, bringen Sie bequeme Schuhe und Kleidung mit. Im Allgemeinen sollten Sie jedoch darauf achten, Ihre Schultern und Knie zu bedecken.

 

Wo übernachtet man in der Region Kurdistan?

Die Unterkunft in der Region ist im Allgemeinen billig und komfortabel und bietet ein gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis. Die meisten Hotels haben gutes WLAN.

Couchsurfing ist auch in der Region Kurdistan sehr beliebt. Es gibt Hunderte von aktiven Profilen in großen Städten wie Dohuk und Erbil und die kurdische Gastfreundschaft ist legendär!

 

Was isst man in der Region Kurdistan?

Wie bei vielen anderen nahöstlichen Gerichten geht es auch bei kurdischen Gerichten hauptsächlich um Fleisch. Gegrilltes Fleisch ist das A und O in Kurdistan. Überall gibt es Schaschlik-Restaurants. In einem ungezwungenen Restaurant sollten Sie mit 3000-5000 Dinar (US $ 3-5) für eine Mahlzeit rechnen.

Zu den kurdischen Gerichten zählen Dolma (gefüllte Weinreben), Shila u Brinc (kurdisches Nationalgericht aus Huhn und Reis) und Okra Bamiya (Eintopf auf Tomatenbasis). Die besten Orte, um diese Lebensmittel zu probieren, sind in der Regel in Privathäusern. Die kurdische Gastfreundschaft ist berühmt, also zögern Sie nicht, Ja zu sagen, wenn Sie eingeladen werden.

Wenn Sie VegetarierIn oder VeganerIn sind, sollten Sie sich keine Sorgen machen. In der kurdischen Küche gibt es viele fleisch- und milchfreie Speisen: Gegrilltes Gemüse, Reis mit Mandeln und Rosinen, besonders frisch zubereitetes Naan mit Hummus oder Baba Ganoush und vieles mehr.

Erwarten Sie natürlich eine große Menge Chai und gehen Sie vorsichtig mit der Zuckermenge um!

 

Wie verbindet man sich in der Region Kurdistan?

Das Internet ist in der Region Kurdistan schnell und einfach verfügbar, und mehrere ausländische Betreiber haben Roaming-Verträge mit lokalen Unternehmen abgeschlossen. Sie können problemlos eine SIM-Karte mit 4G-Daten erwerben; Diese kann jedoch nicht besonders günstig sein. Sie können fast überall mobiles Signal empfangen (sogar auf einem Berggipfel).

SIM-Karten sowie Telefone sind am Flughafen und auf den Basaren (insbesondere in Erbil) leicht erhältlich. Kurdistans wichtigste Telekommunikationsunternehmen sind: Asiacell, Korek und Zain.

Die überwiegende Mehrheit der Hotels verfügt jedoch über kostenfreies WLAN, das schnell und stabil ist. Einige Shisha-Cafés oder Teehäuser bieten möglicherweise auch kostenfreies WLAN.

 

Wie bezahlt man in der Region Kurdistan?

Die Währung in der Region Kurdistan sind irakische Dinar, genau wie im Rest des Irak. Es gibt Geldautomaten am Flughafen und in einigen größeren Hotels. Sie sind jedoch außerhalb der Großstädte nicht leicht zu finden, weshalb es immer ratsam ist, Bargeld mitzunehmen.

Die beste Lösung ist, einige USDs zum Umtausch in der Zitadelle oder im Hotel mitzunehmen. In Erbil und Slemani, hauptsächlich in der Zitadelle und anderen Teilen des Stadtzentrums, können Sie problemlos USD und Euro umtauschen. Wenn Sie in US-Dollar bezahlen, erhalten Sie Wechselgeld in irakischen Dinar.

Die Region ist relativ günstig: Erwarten Sie etwa 30-50 US-Dollar pro Nacht für ein Einzelzimmer in einem Drei-Sterne-Hotel und 5 US-Dollar für eine ordentliche Mahlzeit mit Fleisch und Reis oder ein Döner- / Falafel-Sandwich für nur 1 bis 2 US-Dollar.

 

Was tut man in der Nacht in der Region Kurdistan?

Die großen Städte Erbil, Dohuk und Slemani haben ein sehr reges Nachtleben. Es ist nicht ungewöhnlich, dass Gruppen von Menschen Zeit in Restaurants und Cafés verbringen. Im Sommer haben Hotels oft Rooftop-Bars geöffnet, die bis spät in die Nacht von jungen Leuten bevölkert werden.

 

Wie verhält man sich in der Region Kurdistan?

Der beste Weg ist, sich für die Gastfreundschaft zu bedanken. Kurden sind sehr einladend, so dass es nicht ungewöhnlich ist, zum Mittag- oder Abendessen in privaten Häusern zu kommen. Alkohol trinken ist nicht verboten, aber nur wenige Restaurants servieren Alkohol und das kann ziemlich teuer sein.

 

Wie kommuniziert man in der Region Kurdistan?

Die Region Kurdistan ist offiziell zweisprachig, die beiden Sprachen sind Kurdisch und Arabisch. Es ist jedoch nicht ungewöhnlich, dass junge Generationen nur Kurdisch sprechen können. Es gibt eine große Vielfalt an kurdischen Dialekten, aber Standardkurdisch, das in Erbil gesprochen wird, ist der Sorani-Dialekt. Die Menschen im Erbil-Basar, in Geschäften sowie in Hotels und Restaurants werden höchstwahrscheinlich Englisch sprechen können.

 

Erfahren Sie mehr:

Kurdistan Board of Tourism: http://bot.gov.krd/

AUA tägliche Direktverbindugen Wien-Erbil: Austrian Airlines Erbil